Posted by: Sengs | March 9, 2010

Dallas (Day 1)

Woke up early and headed to the airport to catch the flight to London before going to Dallas on BA. To cut a long story short, Aer Lingus (the Dublin carrier) messed up the flight timings, and my flight got delayed for a full 45min. By the time i got to London and rushed to the departing terminal, the lady at the counter told me

“I’m sorry, you need 45min to clear security – you can’t get on the plane”

All the murderous instincts came out at that instance. I mean, it’s not my fault that I was late right? I just missed clearing the first security check by 10min. USA has been pretty jumpy about stuff like that, with all the terrorism going on.

Thankfully, i managed to get booked on an American Airlines flight for departure in about 3hrs after that. Didn’t appreciate rushing from T3 to T5 and back to T3 again though. Adding insult to injury, i was told that i was entitled to meal vouchers by Aer Lingus (walaoz, you guys made me miss my flight, downgraded me from a top notch airline to an average one and caused me to wake my friend up in the wee small hours of the morning to inform him not to come airport 3hrs earlier – and all you are offering me are meal vouchers? And i have to go to T1 and file claims for them too!). The AL staff didn’t even give me a reason for the flight delay.

Of cos i didn’t head to T1 – i would have even missed my AA flight had i done so. But their customer service will be receiving my complaint letter as soon as i have access to a fax machine – they don’t even have an email for PR – how jialat is that?

2 airlines (Aer Lingus and Ryanair) serving Dublin Airport – and both are thrash.

I was already pretty appalled. There were 2 other ladies who were on the same route too. And they purchased 1st class tickets on BA – and AA couldn’t even upgrade them to biz class. So essentially, they paid BA 1st class price to travel on AA economy class (to have an idea of how AA economy class is like, just imagine taking Tiger/Air Asia – the only difference being the provision of food and drinks)

The 9 1/2 hrs flight to Dallas was just….. torturous. The plane didn’t have in-flight entertainment (BA had). I only had a book, a magazine, and a fully charged laptop (that lasts a grand total of 25min) with me. Coupled with the fact that I don’t really sleep well on flights, it was a very looooong flight indeed.

Anyway, that aside, i arrived in Dallas and cleared customs relatively smoothly (was surprised – thought i might be questioned more)

Pics!

After a quick dinner, headed to the American Airlines (the irony!) Center
to catch my virgin NBA game! Dallas vs Sacramento, not a Man U-Chelsea type
of match, but still got to catch 3 NBA all stars in action – not too bad i suppose

Edwardo! Said he gained 10kg. Looks so?

haha no am not a mavs fan – they just put this on every seat
i mean, i am in Dallas – i couldn’t possibly be supporting the away team
in my right frame of mind could I?

overlooking the court

they have these cams that focus on random people in the crowd
usually they will go all excited and wave to the cams

the game

they have heaps of half time & in between timeouts entertainment.
while on TV, you get commercials, here, you get all sorts of other
stuff – pictured is a baby race hahaha. Sad to say, the entertainment’s
actually better than the game itself

America being branded the “most obese nation in the world” is really no joke man. Everywhere I go, fat people are there! I do not mean it in a derogatory fashion, but there really are obese people all around. I look at their diet, and i shudder. Greasy and fried food all the way. No wonder Ed gained 10kg. I think i would probably have a shot of being obese should i relocate here too. Ah wells.


Responses

  1. HMMM…. *recalls baby photo of my brother* obese, huh..


Leave a comment

Categories